Anthropozoologica is a fast-track and peer-reviewed journal. Established in 1984, it aims to stimulate exchanges of research results and ideas among scientists studying the relationship between man and animal, from the origins up to modern times. It aims to promote the study of these relationships viewed as strong expressions of the history of cultures and societies in their natural environments. It publishes original articles, in French and English, from all disciplines dealing with this topic, particularly multidisciplinary reviews, as well as book reviews.
Anthropozoologica is published with the help of the Centre national de la recherche scientifique. All articles published in Anthropozoologica are compliant with the different nomenclatural codes. A copyright assignment will be signed by the authors before publication.
All Anthropozoologica articles are made freely and immediately available in PDF to readers on the Muséum national d'histoire naturelle website, with no charges to authors for publication (Diamond Open Access). The enhanced journal is distributed by BioOne, which provides its archiving in Portico and LOCKSS.
Visit our website:


Editorial board

  • Editors-in-chief: Joséphine Lesur and Christine Lefèvre
  • Desk editor: Emmanuelle Rocklin

Scientific board

  • Louis Chaix (Muséum d’Histoire naturelle, Genève, Suisse)
  • Jean-Pierre Digard (CNRS, Ivry-sur-Seine, France)
  • Allowen Evin (Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris, France)
  • Bernard Faye (Cirad, Montpellier, France)
  • Carole Ferret (Laboratoire d’Anthropologie sociale, Paris, France)
  • Giacomo Giacobini (Università di Torino, Turin, Italie)
  • Lionel Gourichon (Université de Nice, Nice, France)
  • Véronique Laroulandie (CNRS, Université de Bordeaux 1, France)
  • Stavros Lazaris (Orient & Méditerranée, Collège de France – CNRS – Sorbonne Université, Paris, France)
  • Nicolas Lescureux (Centre d’Écologie fonctionnelle et évolutive, Montpellier, France)
  • Marco Masseti (University of Florence, Italy)
  • Georges Métailié (Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris, France)
  • Diego Moreno (Università di Genova, Gènes, Italie)
  • François Moutou (Boulogne-Billancourt, France)
  • Marcel Otte (Université de Liège, Liège, Belgique)
  • Joris Peters (Universität München, Munich, Allemagne)
  • François Poplin (Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris, France)
  • Jean Trinquier (École normale supérieure, Paris, France)
  • Baudouin Van den Abeele (Université catholique de Louvain, Louvain, Belgique)
  • Christophe Vendries (Université de Rennes 2, Rennes, France)
  • Denis Vialou (Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris, France)
  • Jean-Denis Vigne (Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris, France)
  • Arnaud Zucker (Université de Nice, Nice, France)

Latest publications
A new submission tool

NESTOR is the new EDP Sciences submission system. Introducing new features, it has never been easier, faster and safer to submit your publication. If you need help, read our User Guide

Create an account Log into your account